Top Risk Areas for New Drivers
1) Distracted Driving
While texting and driving is the most infamous form of distracted driving, other forms include: talking on the phone, eating and drinking, getting ready, using a GPS, adjusting radio controls and talking with passengers. Know and obey the law about cell phone use in Wisconsin and take action by stashing your phone, keeping your eyes on the road, and focusing only on driving.
For more info, check out our Distracted Driving Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.
2) Impaired Driving
"Impaired driving" includes operating a motor vehicle while affected by alcohol, drugs or a medical condition that hinders your ability to drive. Impaired driving can also mean that you're tired or distracted. Avoid tragedy and injury by knowing and obeying the law and making responsible decisions. Never drive a vehicle when you are impaired and refuse to ride in a vehicle with someone who is impaired in any way.
For more info, check out our Drowsy or Impaired Driving Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.
3) Nighttime Driving
For all ages, fatal crashes are more likely to occur at night; but the risk is higher for teens. Per Wisconsin's Graduated Driver Licensing law, a driver with a probationary license has nighttime driving restrictions for the first 9 months. Know the hours during which you are allowed to be driving. Plan ahead so that you are not driving when the law does not allow you to.
For more info, check out our Nighttime Driving Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.
While carpooling and driving with friends in the car can be convenient and fun, it's important to focus on the road at all times. If one of your passengers is doing something to distract you, it's okay to ask them to stop. You are responsible for the safety of yourself and your passengers. Know how many passengers you're allowed to have by law. Do not exceed that number. If you are uncomfortable transporting other people in your car, it's okay to say no.
For more info, check out our Passengers Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.
5) Seat Belt Use
Buckling up is the best protection if you find yourself in a crash. Remember to lead by example and always fasten your seat belt before you hit the road. Encourage your passengers to do the same! Wisconsin law requires drivers and passengers over the age of 4 to wear seatbelts (younger kids should be buckled in a booster seat or car seat).
For more info, check out our Seat Belt Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.
Excessive speed could mean serious injury—or death—in the event of an accident. Not only is speeding dangerous, the consequences can be severe. Depending on the violation, tickets generally cost between $200 and $800. When convicted, you could lose driving privileges, and your parents' trust. Obey the speed limits, keep your distance from the vehicle in front of you, and remember to drive slower in harsh weather conditions.
For more info, check out our Speeding Fact Sheet in English and Spanish.